Home » News » Local runoff elections set for July 14 will see 3 positions on ballots

Local runoff elections set for July 14 will see 3 positions on ballots

The Texas Primary run-off elections early voting dates have been expanded by Texas Governor Greg Abbott. The dates will run from June 29 through July 10th with election day being on July 14th.

Governor Abbott had postponed the May 26 run-off elections back in the month of March due to the COVID-19 Virus Pandemic. He did so under the emergency powers of his previous statewide disaster declaration due to the Coronavirus Pandemic.

The elections are now scheduled for July 14.

Locally, there are three races that are to be contested in this run-off election. The run-off ballot will feature three Constable races.

In the Pct. 2 Constable race, Denise Cantu and Albert De La Torre will be going into a run-off.

Cantu was the top vote getter with 732 votes. De La Torre came in at 696. Ernie Leija received 259 votes,
Cesar Torres — 190, and Enrique Velez — 91.

The Precinct 2 voters will get to decide who will replace longtime Constable Jaime Rios who did not seek re-election.

In the Precinct 1 Constable race
Incumbent Precinct 1 Constable Rudy Valdez will face off against
Oscar Ramos in a run-off. Valdez received 1,008 votes while
Ramos had 825. Jose “Coche” Duran received 637 votes.

In the Pct. 4 Constable race, Hector “Big Rod” Rodriguez and
Joe “Mike” Beattie will be headed into a run-off election.

Hector Rodriguez was the top vote getter with 772 votes. Joe “Mike” Beattie had 684 votes and Jose Regalado received 600 votes.

%d bloggers like this: