Home » News » Runoff Election scheduled for May

Runoff Election scheduled for May

Six local candidates are set to go into a run-off election after the March 3rd primary election.

The run-off election will have three Constable positions up for grabs and will be taking place in the month of May.

Maverick County Democratic Party Chairperson Juanita Martinez has announced that the run-off election day will be on May 26th with early voting taking place from May 18th through May 22nd.

The run-off ballot will feature three races.

In the Pct. 2 Constable race, Denise Cantu and Albert De La Torre will be going into a run-off.

Cantu was the top vote getter with 732 votes. De La Torre came in at 696. Ernie Leija received 259 votes,
Cesar Torres — 190, and Enrique Velez — 91.

The Precinct 2 voters will get to decide who will replace longtime Constable Jaime Rios who did not seek re-election.

In the Precinct 1 Constable race
Incumbent Precinct 1 Constable Rudy Valdez will face off against
Oscar Ramos in a run-off. Valdez received 1,008 votes while
Ramos had 825.

Jose “Coche” Duran received 637 votes.

In the Pct. 4 Constable race, Hector “Big Rod” Rodriguez and
Joe “Mike” Beattie will be headed into a run-off election.

Hector Rodriguez was the top vote getter with 772 votes. Joe “Mike” Beattie had 684 votes and Jose Regalado received 600 votes.

%d bloggers like this: