Home » News » Governor orders run-off election in SD19 Emergency Election

Governor orders run-off election in SD19 Emergency Election

Texas Governor Greg Abbott has ordered that the run-off election between Democratic Candidate Pete Gallego and Republican Peter Flores take place on September 18, 2018.

In a proclamation set on Monday, August 13 Governor Abbott set the date of the special election runoff to replace convicted former state Sen. Carlos Uresti.

The emergency special run-off election for the Texas State Senate District 19 position will determine who will serve out the unexpired term left behind by Uresti who resigned his position after being convicted of 11 felonies and later sentenced to 12 years imprisonment.

Early voting will begin on September 10, 2018 and will run through September 14.

Flores and Gallego were the top vote-getters during the special election in July which included six other candidates.

Currently, the Republican Party of Texas is suing to remove Gallego from the ballot, alleging he does not live in the district as required by state law.

In a hearing held in Travis County on Monday, August 13 legal counsel for the Republican State party attempted without success to impede the Texas Secretary of State from certifying the candidates for the run-off election.

Governor Abbott officially announced his decision to set the race for September, hours later.

Texas State Senate District No. 19, consists of Brewster, Crockett, Dimmit, Edwards, Frio, Kinney, Maverick, Medina, Pecos, Real, Reeves, Terrell, Uvalde, Val Verde, and Zavala counties and parts of Atascosa and Bexar counties.

%d bloggers like this: